Skip to content
Hillingdon Counts — Hillingdon, in numbers.Local help →

Hillingdon, in numbers

People and living standards

Hillingdon council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Hillingdon council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 234,384 in 1991 to 326,671 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Hillingdon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 241,958 people in 1996; 326,671 people in 2025. 35% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Hillingdon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991234,384
1992234,457
1993235,675
1994238,708
1995240,146
1996241,958
1997242,901
1998243,587
1999245,053
2000245,911
2001245,616
2002247,063
2003248,054
2004248,691
2005251,430
2006254,387
2007256,981
2008261,051
2009265,665
2010269,465
2011275,499
2012281,263
2013285,982
2014290,225
2015294,011
2016297,451
2017299,469
2018302,263
2019305,641
2020306,460
2021305,107
2022312,493
2023322,383
2024327,886
2025326,671
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Hillingdon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 50,721 people in 1996; 64,344 people in 2025. 26.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Hillingdon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199146,801
199247,676
199348,551
199449,580
199550,197
199650,721
199751,309
199851,638
199952,093
200052,193
200151,467
200251,488
200351,684
200451,718
200552,195
200653,016
200753,481
200854,342
200955,583
201056,369
201157,256
201259,009
201360,388
201461,416
201562,584
201663,654
201764,285
201864,773
201965,098
202064,818
202163,821
202264,873
202365,685
202465,818
202564,344
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Hillingdon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 157,047 people in 1996; 217,979 people in 2025. 38.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Hillingdon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991153,607
1992152,940
1993153,180
1994155,092
1995155,772
1996157,047
1997157,403
1998157,736
1999159,013
2000159,931
2001160,321
2002161,683
2003162,384
2004163,183
2005165,405
2006167,642
2007169,745
2008172,660
2009175,658
2010178,204
2011182,832
2012185,659
2013188,241
2014190,763
2015193,092
2016195,076
2017195,993
2018197,850
2019200,187
2020200,719
2021199,954
2022205,676
2023214,132
2024218,702
2025217,979
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Hillingdon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 34,190 people in 1996; 44,348 people in 2025. 29.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Hillingdon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,976
199233,841
199333,944
199434,036
199534,177
199634,190
199734,189
199834,213
199933,947
200033,787
200133,828
200233,892
200333,986
200433,790
200533,830
200633,729
200733,755
200834,049
200934,424
201034,892
201135,411
201236,595
201337,353
201438,046
201538,335
201638,721
201739,191
201839,640
201940,356
202040,923
202141,332
202241,944
202342,566
202443,366
202544,348
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 305,907 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hillingdon · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh101,93833.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African23,9557.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups13,3594.4%
White147,38748.2%
Other ethnic group19,2686.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 273,936 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hillingdon · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White166,03160.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups10,4793.8%
Asian/Asian British69,25325.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British20,0827.3%
Other ethnic group8,0913%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 243,006 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hillingdon · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White192,12079.1%
Mixed5,5882.3%
Asian/Asian British33,04813.6%
Black/Black British8,0063.3%
Chinese/Other4,2441.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 0.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Hillingdon council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,854 per person in 1997; £25,875 per person in 2024. 162.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Hillingdon council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,854
199810,297
199911,097
200011,764
200112,515
200212,902
200313,646
200414,233
200514,945
200615,351
200716,211
200816,640
200916,678
201016,880
201116,783
201217,722
201318,484
201418,959
201520,258
201620,685
201720,825
201821,485
201921,901
202021,832
202122,500
202223,578
202324,477
202425,875
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Hillingdon council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -7.1% in 1997; -0.3% in 2024. 6.8 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Hillingdon council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-7.1
1998-4.9
1999-1.9
2000-1.2
20011.2
20022
20034.7
20044.9
20056.3
20064.8
20075.6
20085.7
20094.2
20104.5
20113
20124.9
20135.5
20144.8
20156.5
20167.4
20175.7
20185.3
20193.9
20204
20213
20222.7
20230.1
2024-0.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59%

21 March 2021 · Hillingdon council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.1%

21 March 2021 · Hillingdon council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.2%

21 March 2021 · Hillingdon council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4%

21 March 2021 · Hillingdon council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£471,000

July 2026 · Hillingdon council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,570

August 2026 · Hillingdon council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.